Month: December 2012

  • On the 6th Day of Christmas…

    *Woke to my usual routine of coffee, bible devotions, breakfast and Facebook.
    *Headed down to the gym:
      30 min cardio on the bike and treadmill, then 30 min free weights and stretching.
    *Relaxed at the Laguna Coffee Co with my latte and read the local paper

    *Once back home did a few chores then headed downtown to run some errands…
      but I also took my camera. I wanted finish up the photo project I started in early December
      called “Signs of Christmas” ~ photographing the unique way Laguna Beach decorates for the holidays,
      but only managed to capture half the town!
      Here are my favorite images from yesterday along Forest and Ocean Ave:

       

           

            

         

       

            


      
      

       

          

    And here is the Art Pallet that started my photo Xmas journey:
    I discovered the pallet I painted for the city back in 1987,
    though battered and worn, had and been re-hung this year.
    Not only does it represent the true message of Christmas,
    but it also reflects my stained glass background
    and the joy I was feeling as we anticipated the birth of our first child.



    “For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given:
    and the government shall be upon His shoulder:
    and His name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor,
    The Mighty God, The Everlasting Father,
    The Prince of Peace.


    Isaiah 9:6

     

  • On the 5th Day of Christmas…

    *Woke to a bright, cold morning. Bri and I snuggled under blankets in the living room
      while drinking coffee and sharing stories.

    *Attended our Church by the Sea for sweet worship, inspirational teaching
      and good fellowship afterwards. My life is so rich because of these blessings.

    *Later while relaxing with Spence and about to get to work editing portraits,
      I noticed the light had changed outside…to the east dark clouds were building above the canyon.
      It felt and looked like rain.

     I went online to check the weather map.
    It showed snow and ice falling on Saddleback Mtn
    and a storm cell sweeping toward Laguna.
    GRABBED THE CAMERA and I was out the door!

    Arrived up at the Alta Laguna Lookout just as the rain started
    and God threw a spotlight on the sea.


    Dry under my umbrella, the wind buffeted my back
    as the day went dark and grey.


    Driving back down our hill I knew where to find a view of Laguna
    and the curtain of rain on the ocean.


    The clouds to the north

    Visiting with the French’s after taking pictures from their front lawn
    then noticed the sun was going to appear beneath the clouds I said a quick “good-bye”

     
    Chasing the sun down Thaila.
    Parked at Oak St, then hurried down the stairs out onto the sand and looked south…

     

     
    “Throughout Christmastide,
    as we continue to celebrate the birth of the Christ-child

    and give thanks that an all-powerful God chose to come among us as one of us,
    we sing joyful praises to God!

    But we humans are not the only ones to praise God.
    All creation praises God: the sun and moon, the cows and the birds,
    the trees and the hills, the wind and frost – all in their own way give praise to God.



    Just as the star, and the animals, and the people gathered together
    around the baby Jesus in awe and adoration over 2000 years ago,
    creation still gathers to praise and adore our God.

     

    Notice the world around you today:
    the crunch of snow beneath your feet, the vibrant colors of the sunset,
    the sound of waves on a shore, and wonder,
    “How is creation giving praise to God today?”


    ~Joann Lee

  • On the 4th Day of Christmas…

    *I read this bible verse from cerwindoris:

     ”This is the day the Lord has made.
    Let us rejoice and be happy today!”


    Psalm 118:24 (Easy-to-Read Version)
    Then the room turned a soft rose,
    I looked over my shoulder and saw this!

    *Drove down to San Clemente (little traffic and stormy skies made the drive enjoyable)
    to create a family portrait for the Nordmans…an hour session became a sweet two hour visit.

    *A gentle rain began as I headed home along the coast road, stopping at Staples for a new calendar
    and then at good old Trader Joes for groceries. I arrived just as Bri and her 3 girlfriends drove up,
    they helped carry in all the bags. How fun to hear them talking and laughing in her room.
    I wanted to save the moment, and they graciously posed for me.


    Bri, Breanna, Stacia, and Jessica

    *Spent the rest of the afternoon under a blanket editing photos
    and watching the DVD Bri gave me for Christmascalled “The Holiday”,
     a sweet, romantic comedy. Once the sun went down, we lit a fire, had diner
    and finished the day watching the classic, Bette Davis movie “Now, Voyager”.

  • On the 3rd Day of Christmas…

    *I had a long, slow morning. Blogging, reading, drinking coffee and visiting with friends on Facebook.
      Finally made it down to my gym, the Art of Fitness, after 10 am. Had a good workout while chatting
      with new friends I’ve made there in the past two years. Walked next door to the Laguna Coffee Company
      for my favorite drink, a medium latte with extra foam. Yum

    *Fun Fact ~ I shot all the images of the staff at Laguna Coffee Co. for their annual calendar this year!
     Here are a few of my favorite images from the shoot:

    *That afternoon I finally tackled my desk area…organized, tossed and filed. Then paid our bills.
      Felt good to get that done.

    *Spence and I then went to a 25th Wedding Anniversary Party for our dear friends Virgina and Loren
      at the Aliso Creek Inn. As we turned off Coast Hwy, the full moon had just risen above the canyon
      reflecting on the creek….wished I had the tripod with me… have to remember that next year.
      It was fun to get dressed up and party with friends, Spence even wore a jacket and tie,
      yet it wasn’t a true date night, because I was also working…yep, they hired me to photograph the event

    *Got home before 10 pm to find Bri and Erin watching TV by the fire, drinking tea and eat Peppermint Joe cookies.

  • On the 2nd Day of Christmas…

    *The morning was bright and cold!
    Bundled beneath blankets I savored my daily bible devotions and sipped hot coffee.
    My heart was thankful for the sun streaming in the window,
    highlighting the steam rising off my mug and the simple truth of these words:


    “It is Christmas forever now —
    because Christ is always with us.”

    ~ann voskamp
    *The rest of the day was very full, starting with a portrait session down on Main Beach
    with my nephew Nick, his wife Alicia and their two precious boys, Malachi and Brason.
    I took over 400 images…too many good ones to share right now, but here’s one favorite:

    *Then it was off to get the Bronco “smogged”
    and gather up all the paper work because we had a buyer coming to picked it up!
    Yes, after many good years driving “the beast” and so many wonderful memories,
    it was time to sell it. I’m no longer “Broncomom”.
    This is the last picture I took before they arrived…I stayed in the house, not wanting to watch it leave.

    *Thankfully I had a good distraction arrive soon after:
    Nick and his family came over, plus Bri and Jonathan, for dinner!
    It was just getting dark, the Christmas Tree lights sparkled, a fire warmed up the living room,
    we sat to play with the boys and talked and talked.
    Spence barbecued some chicken, I added steamed rice and veggies,
    then we finished with tangerines from our garden and a little dark chocolate.
    It was a calm, easy evening…it felt…like Christmas.

  • On the 1st Day of Christmas…

    *After a very peaceful, Christmas Day I was ready to go today! Talked with clients, planned two portrait sessions, worked-out at the gym for over an hour, cleaned the kitchen and did laundry.

    *Got an email from someone very interested in buying the Bronco…that evening a mom and son showed up to take it for a test drive. They loved it, put down a deposit,  and if it passes Smog tomorrow they will be back to pick it up! This would be a great relief.

    *But backtracking a bit…we woke to a gentle rain, that left behind huge billowing clouds and then a cold, strong wind. Looking down our canyon, I could see white caps sparkling on the ocean. By late afternoon I had to go for a walk on the beach!

     

    “I must go down the the sea again,
    for the call of the running tide
    is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
    and all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
    and the flung spray and the blown spume,
    and the seagulls crying.”

    John Masefield


  •     
    “Oh, how my soul praises the Lord.
    How my spirit rejoices in God my Savior!”

    Luke 1:46-47


  • ON ASSIGNMENT!

    In early December I was contacted by our local newspaper
    the Laguna Beach Independent and was asked to photograph
    Laguna’s Annual Hospitality Night…and I was paid.

    Here are the photos they published:

    http://www.lagunabeachindy.com/2012/12/12/locals-greet-season/

    1 wheeland bros img 1416lbhos Locals Greet the Season

    Hospitality Night revelers surround the Wheeland Brothers performing on the Forest Avenue stage during last Friday’s city and Chamber of Commerce sponsored annual festivities.

    2 fireside carolers img 1281lbhos Locals Greet the Season

    The roaming Fireside Carolers, outfitted for a Dickensian Christmas, harmonized outside Areo on Ocean Avenue.

    3 zac elliot and logan cub scouts img 1187lbhos Locals Greet the Season

    Scouts Zac, Elliot and Logan bear platters of treats for carolers at Laguna Presbyterian Church.

    4 img 1037lbhoslbhos Locals Greet the Season

    Crowds make way for Jolly old Santa Claus and the town’s historic fire engine.

    5 thurston img 1107lbhos Locals Greet the Season

    Thurston Middle School students perform outside City Hall as Claus watchers await his arrival to switch on the light-festooned pepper tree.

    6 img 1241lbhos2 Locals Greet the Season

    Enterprising parents seize a ripe marketing opportunity.

    7 img 1170lbhos Locals Greet the Season

    Pipers signal Santa Claus eminent arrival.

    tosti family img 1183lbhos 1 Locals Greet the Season

    The Tosti family of Laguna Beach exults over the night’s sights and sounds.

    Photos by Mary Hurlbut


  • For Advent

     
    “Because of God’s tender mercy,
    the morning light from heaven is about to break upon us,
    to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,
    and to guide us to the path of peace.”

    Luke 1:78-79