December 28, 2012

  • On the 2nd Day of Christmas…

    *The morning was bright and cold!
    Bundled beneath blankets I savored my daily bible devotions and sipped hot coffee.
    My heart was thankful for the sun streaming in the window,
    highlighting the steam rising off my mug and the simple truth of these words:


    “It is Christmas forever now —
    because Christ is always with us.”

    ~ann voskamp
    *The rest of the day was very full, starting with a portrait session down on Main Beach
    with my nephew Nick, his wife Alicia and their two precious boys, Malachi and Brason.
    I took over 400 images…too many good ones to share right now, but here’s one favorite:

    *Then it was off to get the Bronco “smogged”
    and gather up all the paper work because we had a buyer coming to picked it up!
    Yes, after many good years driving “the beast” and so many wonderful memories,
    it was time to sell it. I’m no longer “Broncomom”.
    This is the last picture I took before they arrived…I stayed in the house, not wanting to watch it leave.

    *Thankfully I had a good distraction arrive soon after:
    Nick and his family came over, plus Bri and Jonathan, for dinner!
    It was just getting dark, the Christmas Tree lights sparkled, a fire warmed up the living room,
    we sat to play with the boys and talked and talked.
    Spence barbecued some chicken, I added steamed rice and veggies,
    then we finished with tangerines from our garden and a little dark chocolate.
    It was a calm, easy evening…it felt…like Christmas.

Comments (3)

  • So glad you had sweet distractions. You will now have to build some new fun memories!

  • So sad about your Bronco!  I’m sure it’s moving on to new adventures and you’ve certainly gotten a lot of good memories from it!

    LOVE the family portrait!   Merry Christmas!

  • We had a Bronco early in our marriage, and I loved it so much. I feel your pain, but also know the need to move on.

    I love Nick and Alicia’s family pic – so natural, yet perfectly portraiture!

    I am loving your 12 days of Christmas.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories