Month: January 2013

  • On the 12th Day of Christmas…
    I woke needing hope, read this devotion.
    Joy filled my heart.

      
    The Christ child is born!


    All you who would find Him,
    prepare for a journey, as determined as the Magi.

    All you who would praise Him,
    come with the faith to follow but a star.

    All you who would worship Him,
    come with humility to the child
    who shows forth the immeasurable riches of God.”

    “Arise, shine; for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you.
    For darkness shall cover the earth, and thick darkness the peoples;
    but the Lord will arise upon you, and his glory will appear over you.
    Nations shall come to your light, and kings to the brightness of your dawn. “

    Isaiah 60:1-3

    An epiphany is a sudden realization that sheds light on our lives and our experience.
    It’s like the light bulb that turns on in the thought-bubbles of cartoons and comics.
    The sudden brightness of that light that allows us to see
    and notice what we have not been able to see before.

    In Christian tradition,
    Epiphany is associated with the Magi who visit the baby Jesus from a far away land.
    The Magi followed the star in search of the birth of the Light of the World.

    As we follow the star, walking with the Magi on a journey to seek the Christ-child,
    what is God trying to teach us today?
    What epiphanies and realizations await us along this journey? 

    Joann Lee

    Dearest Jesus, sometimes even the smallest amount of light helps us through the darkness.
    May Your light shine in my life, so that I may share that light with others.
    Amen.

  • On the 10th Day of Christmas…

    *I woke up at 4 am. For some strange reason I started thinking about the upgrades I need to do with my Adobe Photoshop. That made me think of how little I understand PS and how I’d loose some of my fav actions Matt had installed….finally I fell back to sleep after tossing and turning for an hour.

    *The next thing I knew it was 8 am and I was hearing Bri arrive home. She had been house-sitting all week and had to drop off her clothing and groceries before work. Made coffee and after a prayer, started searching for help…found it! One of my friends is teaching a FREE continuing education, photo-shop class this semester and another friend is going to help me purchase and install my new PS upgrade…that’ll I’ll be able to buy with my new student discount

    *Meanwhile, Spence got up and announced he has to wax my car…I wasn’t going to argue!

    *Later I made it to the gym and then joined the gang from http://stunewslaguna.com/ for their weekly coffee and conversation gathering. They’ve published a few of my images this year and it’s been great for PR…for example, my mom hears all about me from her friends and I have many people recognize me.

    *The rest of the day past quickly. Spence and I talked about what a quiet Christmas season this has been.
      Many plans fell through due to Spence’s cold, then our cousin John got pneumonia and had to cancel
      his family vacation to spend a few days with us. Yet I read something on Ann Voskamp’s blog
      that makes it ok:
                   

    “It is Christmas forever now —because Christ is always with us.”

    *AND now for Part 2 from yesterday’s adventure to Irvine Regional Park:
      Photo highlights from our visit to the Orange County Zoo.

      
     Peacock


    Hedge Hog

     


    Barn Owl

        
    Mountain Lion


    Garter Snake


    Coyote


    Mule Deer


    Brushing goats in the petting area


    David


    Rachel


    Feeding a sheep…
    and then it’s play time.

     

       

         
    I’m so blessed to have these little ones in my life.

     

  • On the 9th Day of Christmas…

    *I took my beloved little David and his sister Rachel to Irvine Regional Park!

    *We drove there via Laguna Canyon, delighting  in the new green grass on the hills 
      and the snow on the distant mountains while singing Christmas carols. I decided to splurge
      and took the short cut on the toll-road.

    *We arrived right at 10 am, bought our tickets and climbed on aboard the 1/3 scale train that took us
       on a ride through the beautiful and historic park:


    Rachel and David are ready!


    Attempt at group shot…arms too short!


    The little engine runs on propane.


    So excited!


    Engineer Jack
     

    All-Aboard and we’re off on a 12 min ride around the park


    Pass the pony padlock


    Passing one of the lakes…I didn’t take many photos
     because I was enjoying the children reactions.


    David so wanted to climb into the engine area,
    but new riders were waiting so the engineer couldn’t take the time,
    Next best thing, a picture next to it.

    There’s more to share, but that will have to wait
     till tomorrow’s post!

  • On the 8th Day of Christmas…

    *Woke to a mild Santana, which means clear, but still cool sunshine.
    *Once more worked out at the gym and had my latte afterwards.
    *Worked in my office, getting ready for taxes.
    *Also getting ready to recommit to my healthy food discipline, as I’m ready for the next step.
      I’ve lost 40lbs (by the grace of God and my total surrender to Him of refined sugars)
      and now would like to loose another 20-40lbs for the sake of my joints and heart.

    *After taking the time to make a good lunch, I went downtown to ship packages, bank,
      pick up a prescription and groceries…how nice to be able to walk to each place instead of having to drive,
      and because I’ve lived here for 50 years, to always see people I know.  
      Thank you for this blessing Lord!

    *Came home to putter around the house, the daily dishes, more laundry,
       sweeping up the wisteria’s golden leaves and setting out the trash.
       Simple things yet satisfying. Thank you God for my home and health.

       

  • On the 7th Day of Christmas…

    *Spence and I both slept in, then wandered out to the living room to watch the Rose Parade.
      We had missed so much, we watched the rerun and didn’t get dressed till noon!

    *Oh what a lazy day, we just stayed home and watched tv…
      Ok, I did some laundry and cooked dinner but that’s about it!

    * I think I’ll share pictures from another lazy day…Christmas at our Home!


    Our goofy 24 year old posing with her annual Tower of Gifts from us.

      
                        The “Captain” in his chair.                      Bri’s creative gift wrapping.

      
    A classic cook book and rock climbing shoes;
    Two of her passions.

        
    Hand painted place mats from Bri plus two DVD’s;
    The Holiday and A-Team!


    Our annual Christmas Brunch with Spence’s dad Don.
    Fresh OJ, scrambled eggs, bacon
    and this year a new “healthy” apple coffee cake.

       
    Our center piece for December is our Advent Wreath…
    on Christmas morning we place this small Nativity in the center.

    Bri got dressed up and left to spend the rest of the day with Jonathan,
    I found a Christmas movie to watch while I edited photos
    and Spence settled down for a “long winter’s nap”